Conference: Katie Hammond and Jenny Levin

Katie Hammond and Jenny Levin attended the Conference on College Composition and Communication in St. Louis, MO last week. They were able to attend the conference thanks to funding from the STF Professional Development Fund. Please stay tuned for an announcement about a professional development workshop to be offered later this semester when they will share ideas from the conference.


Conference Presentations, Workshop, etc.: Lisa Langstraat

Lisa Langstraat attended the Conference on College Composition and Communication last week, where she did the following: Co-Chaired a day-long pre-conference workshop on working with military veterans in writing-intensive courses; presented the paper, “Working with Female Veterans in First-year Composition Courses,” at the workshop; presented, on a different panel, a paper, “Colliding Values, Student-Veterans, and Responsible Writing Program Administration,” served on the NCTE Student Veteran Task Force, and co-chaired the Special Interest Group meeting for Military Veterans and their Families at the conference.

Conference Presentations: Sue Doe

Sue Doe gave two presentations at last week’s Conference on College Composition and Communication (4C’s). They were:

  • “Demographics and Pragmatics: Who Are Student-Veterans and Why Are So Many Enrolling in Colleges and Universities Now?”
  • “Moving In, Moving Through, and Moving On:  Addressing the ‘Service Difference’ in the 50-50 Writing Classroom”

Hospice Fundraiser

Hospice Fundraiser – Featuring poets, musicians, dancers and visual artists including Nancy Jakobsson, Veronica Patterson, Lisa Zimmerman, Beth Lechleitner, Tom Pappas, Jonathan Hillman, Judy Bejarano and Impact Dance Company, Angela Canada-Hopkins.  Thursday, 7pm. Life & Loss: The Stories We Tell Through the Arts, Pathways Hospice, 305 Carpenter Road, Fort Collins.   Coffee or tea served by a professional barista. Admission: $10.

Outstanding Literary Award

The English Department’s Literature Program announces the 9th annual Outstanding Literary Essay Awards contest, which recognizes outstanding critical writing and interpretive work in literary studies.  Applicants must be registered graduate or undergraduate English majors.  Awards of $100 for first place, $50 for second place, and $25 for third place will be offered at both the graduate and undergraduate level.  Winners will be honored at the English Department Awards on Monday, April 23, 2012.

Submission Guidelines:  Submission Guidelines:  Students should submit an essay that represents their best critical work in literary studies.  Undergraduate essays should be no longer than 15 pages and graduate essays should be no longer than 20 pages.  Shorter papers are welcome.  Only one submission is allowed per student.  Submission deadline is Friday, April 6, 2012, at 5:00 p.m.

Please submit TWO clean copies, with no name, address, or instructor’s comments.  Only a title and page numbers should appear.  Include with your essay a separate cover letter with your name, address, phone number, e-mail address, university ID number, and title of your essay.  Also indicate the course for which the essay was written (if it was composed for a course) and the professor who taught the course.  Indicate whether you are an undergraduate or graduate student at CSU.  Address your cover letter to: Professor Barbara Sebek, Department of English, 359 Eddy Hall, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO  80523-1773.

Community Literacy Center: 2012 Community Publishing Project Award

The Community Literacy Center is pleased to award the LitProPo project with the 2012 Community Publishing Project award.  LitProPo will receive $300 for writing program materials and the publication of a chapbook that highlights the work of youth writers in the Poudre School District.